Skip to content

3 Songs for different occasions

July 12, 2011

So, I realized it’s been ages since I’ve posted anything up here, and I want everyone to know that I’m still doing stuff with things.

My biggest love and favorite thing to post about here (other than the Bulls) is definitely music, and we are currently in the midst of a summer that has given us a number of great tracks to listen to for a number of different occasions.  Below you’ll find mini-playlist’s of 3 songs that you can go ahead and add to your different style of playlists.  If I forgot any or if anyone has any suggestions for stuff that I haven’t heard, let me know! (right click save as if you want to keep the track)

3 Songs for the Beach/Pontoon Ride/ Poolside

1.) Theophilus London: Why Even Try (RAC Remix)

Everything that RAC touches is pretty much gold, and throwing in the fact that Tegan and Sara provide vocals for the chorus, this song is fantastic.

2.) YACHT: Shangri-La

Relaxed beat, great chorus.  This song is screaming to be played in the sunshine

3.) The Naked and Famous: Young Blood

This track has been around for a while, but it’s hard to ignore the wonderfulness that is the Passion Pit/MGMT -esq track here.  (yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah)

3 Songs for Your Next Beirut/Flip Cup/Sprute Match

1.) Big Sean Ft. Kanye West: Marvin & Chardonnay

The chorus and beat knocks on this track, and come on…. would Kanye let us go the summer with out putting his name on something?

2.) Big K.R.I.T. ft. Ludacris & Bun-B Country Sh*t (Remix)

Luda brings it pretty hard here, Bun-B gives a nice flow, K.R.I.T. is as consistent as ever and oh goodness that beat!!

3.) The White Panda: Ahh California

Say ahh mixed with California Girls by Katy Perry, it’s definitely a guilty pleasure of mine.

3 Songs for Your Next Run/Workout

1.) Waka Flocka Flame – No Hands (DJ Kue Remix)

DJ Kue speeds the beat up a bit on this otherwise stupid song, and the chorus is catchy enough to keep you interested while the beat drives your feet.

2.) Bad Meets Evil: Echo

Em has always made aggressive songs that are great to work out too.  Try out the standout track from his Bad Meets Evil project with Royce da 5’9″

3.) DJ Stroke ft. Drake, Lil Wayne, Baby: House Of Money

This track has been on every running mix of mine for the past 18 months.  ‘Money to Blow’ with a crazy remixed beat that just screams to be run too.

3 Songs for Your Next Bonfire/Hammock Session

1.) Bon Iver: Minnesota, WI

My personal favorite from the Justin Vernon’s 2nd effort.  This song shows that he learned production skills in the studio while he was hanging with Kanye.

2.) The Antlers: Putting The Dog To Sleep

I love the Antlers, and I love their 2nd album, and for whatever reason, I really really love this song.  Check it out.

3.) Curren$y – This Is The Life

Everyone’s late night needs some hip-hop, so why not let Curren$y narrate what everyone is already thinking/feeling

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Randi permalink
    July 12, 2011 6:07 pm

    Will! Check out How Can U Luv Me by Unknown Mortal Orchestra. I think you’ll like it. Going to Pitchfork this weekend? Have fun for me!

    • willias1 permalink*
      July 12, 2011 6:28 pm

      I have the album but literally haven’t listened to it once yet. I need to get on it! No Pitchfork for me, I’m headed to Indy for a beer festival (tied for my first love).

  2. Randi permalink
    July 12, 2011 9:47 pm

    Well geez, no invite?!?! That’s so close to us! (You’re forgiven, Micah is in Portland and I’m busy!) When are you coming to visit Columbus? 🙂

Leave a Reply

