Skip to content

My Daily Obsession

April 8, 2011

While I don’t suffer from ADD, I tend to have a mind that jumps all over the place, especially when it comes to listening to music and finding new artists.  This would also explain how I could download the new album by The Weeknd and then forget to even import it into iTunes for over a week.  A big thanks to the Admiral for reminding me, because when I did finally listen to this guy, I became obsessed.  The most obvious comparison that people have made (and will continue to make) is The XX and I’m not sure that’s entirely accurate.  The XX isn’t this gritty.  The mood of the production is similar, but the lyrics of the Weeknd are much darker and much more troubled.  Bottom line, I found myself caring more about what the XX was playing and producing more than what they were actually saying.  With the Weeknd, the feeling is different.  The production might not be as polished (it’s damn close though) but to quote my buddy Jason (follow him on Twitter here “Wow… yeah. Good stuff. I’m so confused! So many emotions… sadness, love, how should I feel??!”

Enjoy this new obsession of mine, perhaps it’ll become one for you. (click to listen or right click save as to keep)

The Weeknd: Wicked Games

Leave a Reply

